Aragón is far from the beaten track, a kind of forgotten country when it comes to tourism. The region consists of three provinces: Huesca, the capital Zaragoza and Tereul. Aragón is located in the north of Spain and borders France and the Pyrenees; within Spain it is west of Catalonia. Without a coastline, Aragón is virtually devoid of tourists. Aragón is sparsely populated and 50% of the population lives in the capital Zaragoza.

More about Aragon

Medieval towns and villages are scattered across the landscape and make you feel like you've just stepped into a fairy tale. One such place is Albarracin, located in the province of Tereul, in the Sierra de Albarracin National Park. This beautiful picturesque town has been named the most beautiful village in Spain. But what really makes the region so attractive is its beautiful nature, full of contrasts: lush valleys covered with flowers, waterfalls and a backdrop of snow-capped mountains, permanent glaciers, the Aragonese Pyrenees, the National Park of Ordesa (Spain's oldest nature reserve), ski resorts to the arid steppe plains of the central lowlands.

The capital Zaragoza is the fifth largest city in Spain, situated on the Ebro River. The history of the city goes back more than 2000 years. The city's Forum, the thermal baths, the river port and the Great Theatre all bear witness to the influence of the Roman Empire. There is also a large Arab influence from the occupation a few centuries after the Romans. A fine example of Muslim art is the Aljaferia Palace from the 11th century.